10 years ago around this time of the year I really started taking a liking Kobe.   I heard many friends in my 6th and 7th grade talking about the Kobe guy again and how this time he went for 50+ points.  I couldn’t relish exactly what that meant but I did know that those amount of points did seem abnormal to have in one basketball game.  When I went home that day I took more of an interest in basketball.  I kept my TV on NBA TV and started practicing  basketball daily, training for it and research statistics and how to get to be like these elite level guys like Kobe.  That was a good season to be inspired to play he averaged 35 ppg that season!

It is hard to believe he is done with basketball but he sure as hell did not leave any stones unturned during his 19-year career.  He showed resilience in the way he played, perseverance through the rough stretches where the team was rebuilding and pushing towards better days. HIs determination when all hope was lost is second to none.  No player would have stuck it out with the same teammates he had after his three peat years with Shaq.  He kept fighting, kept his faith was rewarded later on with two more championships.

Last night marked the last game that Kobe Bryant will ever play.  I never thought this day would come but after the final buzzer rang and he gave his speech to the fans and walked off, I always imagined being crazy emotional or cryingor something but instead I was happy for him!

This 60 point perfomance for me was the best performance that he ever put on.  Although he is a 5 time champion, 1x MVP, 18x Allstar, and a Gold Medalist and had 81 in a game, among other well notable accomplishments;  He is the first player over 35 to score 60.  EVER.  I doubt that will ever happen again and especially during their fianle game. He was a role model growing up as I am a huge NBA and basketball fan.  He also showed

He was a role model growing up as I am a huge NBA and basketball fan.  He also showed parallels with his struggles on and off the court how to handle things from an objective manner without being bogged down with all of the hoopla.  A lot of the things he has been through, been accused of and issues that have come across in his career is what really makes him unique as a player and a person.  Last night marked the last game that Kobe Bryant will ever play.  I never thought this day would come but after the final buzzer rang and he gave his speech to the fans and walked off, I always imagined

There is a reason why the average career in the league is only 5 years.  When you are in an environment in that of a professional athlete  you become a target and the easier it is to be accused for any ambiguous happening.  This is why I believe the average career is only 5 years long.

I never thought this day would come but after the final buzzer rang and he gave his speech to the fans and walked off, I always imagined being emotional but when he walked off I was more happy for him than anything.  He shot the ball 50 times like vintage Kobe would and dropped 60 like it was nobody’s business.  This wasn’t an ordinary 60 either, it was a 60 that included an array of 3’s, mid range jumpers and 2 lay ups that would have been dunks if it were even just 2 years ago.

Down the line Kobe made no excuses for any injury he had, he owned them played through them and through sheer surrel will power and control with how he used his body.  There is so many words to describe Kobe Bryant but if I was to have to sum it up in one word it would have to be: Mamba.

Leave a Reply

