Yesterday was a great workout session.  It was my first workout using actual equipment that I will be using in the meet on the 31st of this month.  It was a leg day yesterday and I simply worked up to 90% on both the squat and deadlift for a couple of reps to see how comfortable the weight was, followed by some light plyos and some core work.

Bar x 3

135 x 3

225 x 3

315 x 3

so on and so forth until eventually 90 % for one.

Same w/ deadlift

The plyometrics exercises I have been doing them since I was in high school.  I put them back into my training from time to time.  This is one of those times, I like to implement for a couple of reasons.  It is to stay an athlete and give me mobility, stability and keep my power when I am playing basketball.  It also is good cardio without activating slow twitch muscle fibers which conflict with the whole lifting heavy scheme of things.

I am getting more and more confident going into October 31’st.  All of my lifts are looking really good as of now.  I am peaking at the right time and still have a couple more pounds I could slip in during the day if I am feeling really good.  I do not care who is there competing all I can do is the best I can do and I will let the results follow.  I know how hard I work and cannot wait to see it pay off!  There not a better feeling than knowing you worked hard for something you have earned.

Leave a Reply

