Training update 101515

Yesterday’s workout was a tough one.  I did moderate volume on a multitude of lifts.  My workout consisted of getting my body exploding with about 50%-65% on each lift for muscle confusion and recovery purposes.  I am an athlete, so this workout was really tailored for that.  This specific workout was not a part of my programming, but sometimes it is good to switching things up.  I also did this so I could squeeze in safety bar squats, something I haven’t done in over a year.  The last time I tried it was at a athletic sports training facility in my hometown that I was training at the time.  So you can imagine how excited I was to see that my gym got one of these babies!  Plus, I have heard good reviews from very strong people about using them.

Here is what went down:

Safety Bar Squat: 3 x 10

Power Clean: 3 x 10

Incline Bench 3 x 10

Pull ups 3 x 10

Wind shield wipers 3 x 5

Jump rope 5 x 50

20 squats every min for 10 min

Funny thing about the 20 squats in 10 minutes at the end.  I was just finishing all of the workout above except for obviously the 20 squats/ 10 min.  My brother had finished playing basketball and did not have much time to get a “good” workout in.  So the gym employee tells him to do 20 sets of squat in the last 10 min.  The way we heard it was 20 squats in 10 min.  I looked at my brother and was like “lets do it”.  We did it and today I am regretting it.  It is not fun walking.  Try it at the end of your workout for a extra little extra work.  It is great for fat burning and cardiovascular health!

Leave a Reply

