New Experiences/ Powerlifting meet

I’m pumped as hell!  Its official!  I just signed up for my first power lifting meet. I recently saw a USPA sanctioned meet in my area, so I’m giving it a go. This is exciting in that it gives me structure in my training and something to shoot for down the line.  I’m super stoked because this will be the first of many.  This will be the foundation in my new athletic venture.

Growing up I always loved sports.  I tried most of them at one point or another; But basketball was always my first love.  I always enjoyed working hard in the off season for basketball.  I usually did a lot of conditioning and playing of playing ball during the off-season.  I’d been doing this off-season tradition since grade school. But in spring of my 7th grade year I decided that I wanted to tryout for the junior varsity team.  I competed with varsity basketball players as well as my competition for next year during the tryout.  During those open gym sessions the high school coach expressed to us the importance of lifting weights. So because I wanted to be the best I could and be a contender for a spot on the team, I incorporated this into my regime as well.

Lifting and training in high school for basketball during the off-season became routine for me once I made the junior varsity and varsity teams.  Even though basketball will always be my first love, I relished the off-season more because of the process training.  I mean I always loved the thought of coming back into the next season as a new player.

Fast forward to today.  I am now a college graduate with 4 more years of casual lifting/training under my belt.  I have come a long way from my athletic past but I still love competition.  I had for the past 2 years be debating on competing in this new realm of sport, but never actually made it happen.  So now I figured is the best time to shake things up.  I recently saw a USPA sanctioned meet in my area, so I’m giving it a go. This is exciting in that it gives me structure in my training and something to shoot for down the line.  I’m super stoked because hopefully this will be the first of many.  This will be the foundation in my new athletic venture.

Leave a Reply

